Interim

August 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve been almost as busy as the devil this summer semester, and I think I still failed a class, anyway. But it’s the interim now, I have three weeks off and I can finally get back to blogging and reading! The devil, unfortunately, has been extremely busy lately. First and foremost, I am still reeling over the fact that Father Corapi has left the priesthood amid quite a scandal. Father Corapi’s radio catechism lessons were invaluable in drawing me to the Catholic Faith. After a while, I even started playing his talks at full volume while working at the evangelical church I converted from, hoping some of my fellow Christians would be as amazed as I was by the perfect sense the Catechism made. Imagine my surprise and disappointment when I heard that Father had been accused of sexual and financial misdeeds. I do feel that he made the right decision in stepping down from the priesthood- I was never aware of the fact that he didn’t live in community, but rather in an expensive home with many expensive possessions. That is no way for a religious to live, and it pains me to say that Father Corapi, sound as his teachings to other Catholics might have been, might not have had the right spirit and vocation for religious life. I wish Father Corapi well in his lay ministry, and hope he has a change of heart that leads him to seek Christ rather than monetary gain.

Archbishop Pietro Sambi, nuncio to the US, has passed. Let us pray for the soul of this man who has served the Church Militant for so many decades. The death of any priest reminds us of the importance of youth, and the need for vocations. That is why World Youth Day, which kicks off in a couple of weeks, is so important. Let us also pray for vocations, and let’s pray that those who are called are truly called; let them never participate in any “abuses” (child molestation, etc.) and may they help guide the Church back to a more traditional stance, recalling a time when priests were trusted.

That’s about all I have for right now. I hope to read some more and give another Catholic book review for everyone. I accidentally ordered a book I already had from Aquinas and More, so I have to send it back and wait for the next one. Sorry! In the meantime, I am working on some other reading that I hope to share.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Interim at Tiber Swimming.

meta

